COMPARATIVES AND SUPERLATIVES

Complete the following exercise with the comparative or the superlative form of the following adjectives. (They are not in order).

BEAUTIFUL, BIG, COLD, DARK, INTELLIGENT, LONG, FAR, PRETTY, TALL, THIN

JOHN:        Hi, nice to meet you. Don’t you think London is a beautiful city?

STEVE: Hi. Yes, it is indeed. It is ________________ city in the world.

JOHN:   Where do you live?  I live in Plymouth. It is in the south. The weather is very nice in the south, you know.

STEVE: Well, I live in Scotland; it is a lot ________________ London than Plymouth. And the weather is much ________________.

JOHN:  Do you have a girlfriend or a wife?

STEVE:  I have a girlfriend who wants to marry me, but she’s ________________ than me.

JOHN:  Is she much ________________ than you?

STEVE: Oh, yes.10 centimetres.

JOHN:     Well my girlfriend is much ________________ than that.  In fact she is ________________ woman that I know.

STEVE: Have you got a photo of your girlfriend?

JOHN: Yes, here it is. My girlfriend is very pretty. I think that she is ________________ girl in the world.

STEVE: She looks like my girlfriend but her hair is ________________.

JOHN:    What colour is her hair? You can see that my girlfriend’s hair is dark.

STEVE:   My girlfriend’s hair is also dark, but it is ________________ than your girlfriend’s.

JOHN:   What about her eyes? My girlfriend’s eyes are blue and black and vey big.

STEVE:    My girlfriend’s eyes are ________________ eyes in the world, but they are brown.

JOHN:   My girlfriend is very thin.

STEVE:  My girlfriend is not ________________ as your girlfriend. She weighs a little more.

JOHN:  My girlfriend is very intelligent.

STEVE: My girlfriend is also very intelligent. She is ________________ than me. In fact she is ________________ girl in our class.

Adapted  from and based on: http://www.musicalenglishlessons.org/grammar/adjectives.htm

KEY

Complete the following exercise with the comparative or the superlative form of the following adjectives. (They are not in order).

BEAUTIFUL, BIG, COLD, DARK, INTELLIGENT, LONG, FAR, PRETTY, TALL, THIN

JOHN:        Hi, nice to meet you. Don’t you think London is a beautiful city?

STEVE: Hi. Yes, it is indeed. It is THE MOST BEAUTIFUL city in the world.

JOHN:   Where do you live?  I live in Plymouth. It is in the south. The weather is very nice in the south, you know.

STEVE: Well, I live in Scotland; it is a lot FARTHER London than Plymouth. And the weather is much COLDER.

JOHN:  Do you have a girlfriend or a wife?

STEVE:  I have a girlfriend who wants to marry me, but she’s TALLER than me.

JOHN:  Is she much TALLER than you?

STEVE: Oh, yes.10 centimetres.

JOHN:     Well my girlfriend is much TALLER than that.  In fact she is THE TALLEST woman that I know.

STEVE: Have you got a photo of your girlfriend?

JOHN: Yes, here it is. My girlfriend is very pretty. I think that she is THE PRETTIEST girl in the world.

STEVE: She looks like my girlfriend but her hair is LONGER.

JOHN:    What colour is her hair? You can see that my girlfriend’s hair is dark.

STEVE:   My girlfriend’s hair is also dark, but it is DARKER than your girlfriend’s.

JOHN:   What about her eyes? My girlfriend’s eyes are blue and black and vey big.

STEVE:    My girlfriend’s eyes are THE BIGGEST eyes in the world, but they are brown.

JOHN:   My girlfriend is very thin.

STEVE:  My girlfriend is not AS / SO THIN as your girlfriend. She weighs a little more.

JOHN:  My girlfriend is very intelligent.

STEVE: My girlfriend is also very intelligent. She is MORE INTELLIGENT than me. In fact she is THE MOST INTELLIGENT girl in our class.

Adapted from: http://www.musicalenglishlessons.org/grammar/adjectives.htm


0 Responses to “COMPARATIVES AND SUPERLATIVES”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 48,286 hits

